Same-Sex Marriage and Non-Traditional Families

Same-sex Marriages • Parentage • Inheritance rights • Divorce
While lesbian and gay couples’ rights have achieved protection in some New England states, same-sex couples do still face some areas of inequality and some potential challenges when building their families.

The family law attorneys of Raipher, P.C., help gay and lesbian clients who are ready to marry or who are planning for children, as well as those who seek to secure their rights, their relationships and their property interests in divorce.

Building Your family
Many gay and lesbian families become parents through adoption or by using reproductive technology to help them have children (sperm donors, egg donation, or surrogacy). We assist couples with same-sex adoption, surrogacy contracts, and establishing legal parentage of their children. We can also help you secure your child’s inheritance rights.
Divorce and Property Division in Same-sex Divorce
The most significant area of remaining difference between traditional and gay marriage is in the area of matrimonial law and divorce. The law relating to the financial decisions in divorce has not entirely caught up, and some adjustments may need to be made to achieve a fair and equitable settlement.

For example, many same-sex couples have been in permanent relationships for significant periods before their marriages were officially recognized. The length of these relationships could be an important factor when considering whether a former partner will qualify for spousal support, which is typically granted only in marriages of ten years or more.

Get Legal Advice Now

Initial consultation is Free. Timing is critical. Request a Free consultation now to preserve your rights.

Our Offices

Raipher, P.C.
265 State St Springfield, MA 01103
Phone: (413) 746-4400
Fax: (413) 746-2816

We serve the following localities: Bristol County including New Bedford and Fall River; Essex County including Lynn, Lawrence, and Haverhill; Franklin County including Greenfield; Hampden County including Springfield; Hampshire County including Northampton and Amherst; Middlesex County including Lowell, Cambridge, Newton, Somerville, Framingham, Waltham, Malden, and Medford; Norfolk County including Quincy and Brookline; Plymouth County including Brockton and Plymouth; Suffolk County including Boston; and Worcester County including Worcester.

Call (413) 746-4400